menu

Automating DevOps Workflows with GitLab and Terraform

Go to Lab

106 Reviews

avatar image

finally completed lab in second attempt

Gaurav S. · Reviewed 7 days ago

avatar image

Shivam J. · Reviewed 8 days ago

avatar image

Nova F. · Reviewed 9 days ago

avatar image

Barbara P. · Reviewed 10 days ago

avatar image

Mick P. · Reviewed 10 days ago

avatar image

Did anyone finish this? I usually finish labs with half the time remaining, which leaves me time to play around and really learn the subject. Now, I just feel I copied-pasted at the speed of light, learned nothing and only managed to get halfway. I'm leaving an extra star for the effort of creating the lab, all the code and the infrastructure, etc. But please make it longer ! Charge me 10 credits for 3 hours instead...

David V. · Reviewed 11 days ago

avatar image

Deploying the three apps was good practice using gitlab, but it takes too much time and doesn't account for trial-and-error bug-solving time. Either you should only deploy one web app (or two) or increase the time alotted to this lab.

Courtenay T. · Reviewed 13 days ago

avatar image

Ran out of time! Also, worker-app Merge poduction job fails: ----final commands and error output from log --- $ grep -rl 'CI_IMAGE' ./k8s | xargs sed -i "s#CI_IMAGE#$CI_REGISTRY_IMAGE/$CI_COMMIT_REF_NAME:$CI_COMMIT_SHORT_SHA#g" $ if grep -rl 'BASE_DOMAIN' ./k8s | xargs sed -i "s#BASE_DOMAIN#$KUBE_INGRESS_BASE_DOMAIN#g"; then echo "Replaced BASE_DOMAIN"; else $ sed: -i requires an argument NO STRING TO REPLACE $ vault kv get -format=json secret/voter-postgres | jq .data | kubectl apply -f - Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "/v1, Resource=secrets", GroupVersionKind: "/v1, Kind=Secret" Name: "postgres", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["apiVersion":"v1" "data":map["connection":"cXdpa2xhYnMtZ2NwLTA0LTE2NzY4MGQyMzBmZjp1cy1jZW50cmFsMTp2b3Rlci1hcHAtcHJvZC1k$ from server for: "STDIN": secrets "postgres" is forbidden: User "system:serviceaccount:gitlab:default" cannot get resource "secrets" $ Running after_script 00:00 Uploading artifacts for failed job 00:00 ERROR: Job failed: command terminated with exit code 1 vote-app MR Review job fails: --- final commands and error output from log --- $ kubectl apply -f ./k8s/review Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "apps/v1, Resource=deployments", GroupVersionKind: "apps/v1, Kind=Deployment" Name: "redis", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["apiVersion":"apps/v1" "kind":"Deployment" "metadata":map["namespace":"gitlab" "annotations":map["kubectl.kubernetes.io$ from server for: "k8s/review/redis-deployment.yaml": deployments.apps "redis" is forbidden: User "system:serviceaccount:gitlab:defaul$ Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "/v1, Resource=services", GroupVersionKind: "/v1, Kind=Service" Name: "redis", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["apiVersion":"v1" "kind":"Service" "metadata":map["labels":map["app":"redis"] "name":"redis" "namespace":"gitlab" "anno$ from server for: "k8s/review/redis-service.yaml": services "redis" is forbidden: User "system:serviceaccount:gitlab:default" cannot g$ Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "apps/v1, Resource=deployments", GroupVersionKind: "apps/v1, Kind=Deployment" Name: "vote-review", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["metadata":map["labels":map["app":"vote"] "name":"vote-review" "namespace":"gitlab" "annotations":map["kubectl.kubernet$ from server for: "k8s/review/vote-review-deployment.yaml": deployments.apps "vote-review" is forbidden: User "system:serviceaccount:g$ Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "networking.k8s.io/v1beta1, Resource=ingresses", GroupVersionKind: "networking.k8s.io/v1beta1, Kind=Ingress" Name: "vote-ingress", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["metadata":map["annotations":map["kubectl.kubernetes.io/last-applied-configuration":""] "name":"vote-ingress" "namespac$ from server for: "k8s/review/vote-review-ingress.yaml": ingresses.networking.k8s.io "vote-ingress" is forbidden: User "system:service$ Error from server (Forbidden): error when retrieving current configuration of: Resource: "/v1, Resource=services", GroupVersionKind: "/v1, Kind=Service" Name: "vote-review", Namespace: "gitlab" Object: &{map["apiVersion":"v1" "kind":"Service" "metadata":map["labels":map["app":"vote"] "name":"vote-review" "namespace":"gitlab" $ from server for: "k8s/review/vote-review-service.yaml": services "vote-review" is forbidden: User "system:serviceaccount:gitlab:defau$ Running after_script 00:00 Uploading artifacts for failed job 00:00 ERROR: Job failed: command terminated with exit code 1

Peter M. · Reviewed 18 days ago

avatar image

Marco M. · Reviewed 19 days ago

avatar image

Vikas S. · Reviewed 19 days ago

avatar image

lotfi a. · Reviewed 23 days ago

avatar image

not enough time to complete

Robin S. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

Walter L. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

Simon M. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

The lab doesnt work, tf init brake the backbone of deployments, because doesnt get the env googlecredentials in the right way. what a waste of time.

José C. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

Krzysztof K. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

Chetan B. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

avatar image

I needed a little more time. I had trouble getting the kubernetes cluster to complete setup which set me back a little bit.

David C. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

I think the lab could be good, but time is a problem. First off I started the lab almost immediately and then started watching the videos, especially as the first blue note says or implies so. I just then read the "Before you click the Start Lab button" section further down which implies to do differently. I wasted about ~25min because of that. Then the next problem was the Google Cloud Shell initialization/provisioning, which somehow took 30min+ - I decided to restart it then, after having discovered that option and thinking that the first attempt won't work. It then successfully established the connection quite fast (~10s). But after that I haven't had enough time left to finish the lab..

Dennis J. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

Stefan P. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

there was an error and I didn't complete it

Nicola D. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

Aliaksandr B. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

leider nciht geschafft da irgendwas falsch konfiguriert

Simon R. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

The provisioning and the pipelines took too long that I failed the lab for timing issue

Nicola C. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

avatar image

Giordano F. · Reviewed about 2 months ago